Are you looking for a new fandom to immerse yourself in, but are not sure where to start?  “Find Your Fandom” is a series that provides the information you need to figure out where to start in your new fandom journey.  Keep checking back on the blog for future installments!


Avatar: The Last Airbender is a TV show set in an Asian-inspired world where some people can control one of the four elements–earth, water, fire, or air–through a series of movements based on martial arts.  Only one person, however, can control all four elements–the Avatar.  The Avatar serves as an important figure who maintains balance in the world, and acts as a bridge between humans and the spirit world.  Importantly, the Avatar also reincarnates, meaning each new Avatar has access to their previous lives’ wisdom when seeking to solve political conflicts.  

The show spawned a franchise that includes an ongoing series of comics, a sequel TV show with its own comic series, and, most recently, a YA book duology about the teenage years of one of the most popular Avatars, Avatar Kyoshi.  So where do you start?  The original Avatar: The Last Airbender is the best place, but you could potentially also start with The Legend of Korra TV show or even the Kyoshi novels.  Our guide explains your options.

Avatar: The Last Airbender (A:TLA) TV Series

Four nations representing the four elements–water, earth, fire, and air–have long lived in harmony.  One hundred years ago, however, the Fire Nation started a war to conquer the world.  One person–the Avatar–can control all four elements and has the power to end the fighting.  However, the Avatar disappeared one hundred years ago.  The series opens with two children from the Water Tribe, Katara and Sokka, finding the boy Avatar, an Airbender named Aang.  They journey across the world, trying to find Aang teachers who can help him master all the elements so he can defeat the Fire Lord once and for all.  Each “book” or season focuses on Aang mastering a new element as he prepares to face Fire Lord Ozai.  The show is the best place to begin your Avatar journey!

Watch the series!

A:TLA Comics

The comics mostly take place after the events of the A:TLA show, though some take place during the show timeline itself. They will contain spoilers if you have not yet finished watching all three seasons!  The comics are ongoing.

The Promise

Set immediately after the events of the show, this comic trilogy focuses on the Harmony Restoration Movement, an attempt to remove all Fire Nation individuals from the colonies in the Earth Kingdom.  Tensions rise, however, when the Fire Nation citizens argue that the Earth Kingdom is the only home they have ever known.

Read the books!

The Search

This comic run focuses on Prince Zuko as he learns more about his mother and seeks to find her.  Readers also learn more about Azula’s fate.

Read the books!

The Rift

Aang begins receiving visions of Avatar Yangchen, who seems to be leading him to the revelation that human pollution has angered the spirits.  Can Aang and his friends save the world once again?

Read the books!

Smoke and Shadow

Zuko and Aang confront the New Ozai Society, dedicated to restoring the rule of the previous Fire Lord.  Matters become more complicated when they realize Mai’s father is leading the rebellion.

Read the books!

North and South

Katara and Sokka return to the Southern Water Tribe, only to discover that it has been built up.  And not everyone is happy that the Northern Water Tribe values are being imposed on their culture.

Read the books!


Aang and his friends find themselves in the middle of a conflict between benders and non-benders in the Earth Kingdom.

Read the books!

The comics have largely explored the timeline after the end of A:TLA, but this one takes fans back to the events of the original show.  The anthology contains 26 short stories set during the continuity of the show.

This anthology collects short stories that take place during the A:TLA series, as well as after.  Read after finishing Imbalance.

The Legend of Korra TV Series

The Legend of Korra takes place 70 years after the events of A:TLA and features Korra as the Avatar after Aang.  Each “book” or season focuses on a new challenge as Korra faces an Equalist uprising of nonbenders, learns more about the Spirit World, and tries to reestablish the Air Nomads.  You do not need to have seen A:TLA to enjoy Korra, but many original characters make reappearances–a fun extra for fans of the original series.

Watch the series!

The Legend of Korra Comics

The Legend of Korra comics take place immediately after the events of the show finale.  You should watch the show first to understand the plotlines fully.

Turf Wars

Korra and her friends return to Republic City to address a confrontation between the spirits and humans trying to monetize a spirit portal.  Meanwhile, a crime syndicate threatens the city.

Read the books!

Ruins of the Empire

This comic run deals with the political fallout in the Earth Kingdom after the events of the show’s final season.  Korra and her friends fight new enemies trying to restore balance to the world.

Read the books!

The Kyoshi Novels

Set a couple hundred years before the events of A:TLA, the Kyoshi novels are written by YA novelist F. C. Yee with Michael Dante DiMartino, who worked on the original show.  They follow fan-favorite Avatar Kyoshi, an Earthbender who does not initially realize she is the Avatar, as her friend Yun has been incorrectly identified as the Avatar instead.  When one of her mentors betrays her, Kyoshi goes on the run, allying herself with criminals and attempting to master all four elements in secret, so she can take revenge.  You don’t need to have seen the shows to understand and enjoy the books.

Read the books!